Today I want to talk about shoes, they can be the factor that makes or breaks your entire workout.  For the majority of the population, you walk into Foot Locker and see something that catches your eye. As long as it’s in your size and in your price range you buy it and off you go. Sad part of this is that most of the time it’s probably not the right shoe for your foot.  So I wanted to list some quick tips to make sure you aren’t wasting money on something that is going to kill your burn!

1.Fitting- First things first, we need to figure out what you need for support. Google your area and see if there is somewhere that actually does this near you.  If you are in the OKC area here is one I highly recommend. There is a video they take while you briefly trot on the treadmill that tells them how your feet move in action.  Also, try to go athletic shoe shopping mid to late day. Your feet have probably swelled up more than they were when you first got out of bed and they have been upright for 8 hours. This will give a more accurate size in the fullness department. I have gotten shoes before that mid-way through and exercise start squeezing the tops of my feet making me miserable.

Red Coyote Fit Analysis

If you don’t have any of these cool stores near you, never fear I have a solution to that also. Find a brown paper bag or in my case I used construction paper. I simply stood in the tub and got my feet wet, shake off the drips and firmly stand on the p20160703_112201aper with your weight evenly distributed! It’s not quite the same or a perfect description but it’s enough to point you in the right direction. You can take this in and show it to a shoe-xpert and they will be able to tell what kind of support you need.

*Side note- most people at bulk shoes stores aren’t qualified to do this. Take the time to find a running store even if you don’t end up buying them there. Stepping on that little metal shoe sizer does not determine anything about the design of your foot other than inches.  (Shoe carnival, payless, etc.)

2. Know your fitness- Basketball shoes are made for basketball. Running shoes are made for running. I think you get the point, I have faith your smart! Cross training shoes are probably the majority of your average shoes at a big box store. Which is okay but again, know your fit so you don’t buy the wrong shoes. It’s actually not a ploy set out by Nike to trick you into buying more shoes. They are designed to fit the specific needs of specific sports activities.  The wrong activity in the wrong shoes can lead to breakdown in your feet, shin splints, or worse injury. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

3. Budget- Know your checkbook, while I am a “get what you paid for” type of person it is also important to know that maybe you can’t afford $300 shoes.  Shoe markets are a lot like handbags, every season brings new styles while the old ones get shipped off to discount stores. So if you are a bargain shopper you can find some really great deals on last season’s models. Also go try on shoes and then check out online pricing before you make your final decision.

4. The Look- For the ladies this is the hardest thing to handle here.

 STOP BUYING SHOES BASED ON HOW THEY LOOK

I know you want to show up to Zumba in the brightest kicks and cause a headturn. Unless you have picked those out based on the fact that they are the exact fit you need.. KNOCK IT OFF! If you are hell bent on your one of a kind shoes, find the model you need and see if you can custom design them online (Nike & Reebok are good ones to use.) It will take longer to get them but if it’s in your budget you will probably be 100% satisfied.

5. Time- My last and hardest tip to follow for myself. Especially for my custom stupid expensive shoes. Let’s compare your body to your car. After so many miles you need an oil change or a shoe change. Yes, your shoes have a shelf life.

 The AAPSM has these guidelines for replacing the sneaks.

  • After roughly 300 to 500 miles of running or walking.
  • After roughly 45 to 60 hours of basketball, aerobic dance, tennis, or similar sports.
  • When there’s any noticeable wear to the mid-sole – the shoes look uneven when they’re placed on a flat surface.

Also just general time rule is 1 year. I am also going to add this is hard for me because I do have my favorite shoes I don’t want to part with. Going to have to work on this one.

 

Happy Reading

-H

